My Life

"The important work of moving the world forward does not wait to be done by perfect men." – George Eliot

Recently, in the life of me… December 15, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — corntree @ 9:27 am

Well, last week I came off a good few days only to start another sucky week. I’ve been really anxious the past few days, which may be from a new medicine I’m taking. When it’s bad, I have to work hard to make it from second to second, but when I’m feeling better (like right now) the bad stuff seems unreal, like a dream. Back in May, I had a horrible panic attack, the worst I’ve ever had by far, and what I’ve been feeling the past few days is like a little bit of that. Also, I’ve been having trouble sleeping. I’ve been working to sleep at night so I don’t fall asleep so much during the day, but it’s hard. I wake up every couple hours, and the extra anxiety makes it really hard to sleep, too.

In happier news, we got a sweet new TV last week. It’s our first flat screen. It has WiFi too, so we can watch streaming video from the internet on it. We also got an antenna. We’ve never had “TV” before; we just watched movies. I admit I’ve been letting the kids watch too much TV, but we’ll work on it. (It’s mostly just PBS, though!) I had another talk with them about commercials and not being swayed by advertising, because we’re seeing more of that now that we have the antenna.

Yule and Christmas are coming up soon. We’re desperately trying to figure out gifts for everyone. I want to do something special for Yule this year, maybe a nice meal and a small ritual. I think I will print out suns to hang around the house to mark the sun coming back. I found a cute crochet pattern for a sun, too, so maybe I’ll make an ornament or something. I would love to make at least one new ornament for the tree each year. We already have a tradition to let everyone pick out an ornament to buy each year. Someday our tree might be packed, but right now it’s still pretty sparsely covered, so I like getting new ornaments every year. My FIL will be getting us a live tree as usual. I’m looking forward to decorating. Last year we had an awesome time decorating the tree. We played Christmas music and drank hot chocolate and ate gingerbread men. I remember I had tears in my eyes, I was so happy.

Well, that’s all that’s in my brain for now, so I’m signing off.

 

Leave a Reply

